Chicken Casserole, Fresh green beans and “Dummy Pie”…

Ahhh it was a good night for supper at my house! 😉

supper

Chicken Casserole, fresh green beans and some peach cobbler! YUM. (I don’t care much for the peach cobbler to be honest…does that make me weird??)

Everything above is pretty simple..just the way I like it!

Everybody seems to have a chicken casserole recipe…and they all seem to be different. Well…so is mine 🙂 

Here is my take on it:

1.5-2 lbs boneless skinless chicken (give or take)

1 packet of dry italian dressing seasoning mix

2 cans of cream of chicken soup OR 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 block cream cheese

1 bag Knorr Rice Sides ( any flavor but I use Cheddar Broccoli or Creamy Chicken)

1 spoonful of sour cream (you don’t have to use this)

1 package of chicken flavored stuffing (I used the new stuffing from Betty Crocker)

  

  • Put your chicken in the crockpot with the Italian Seasoning mix. Cook on low during the day. When it’s easy to shred with a fork, it’s done.

  • Add cream of chicken soup and/or the block of cream cheese (helps if it is soft) to the shredded chicken, mixing thoroughly. 

  • Cook your rice per the directions. When it is done, this is what I add a spoon of sour cream to.

  • Cook your stuffing per the directions. 

Mix everything in a big bowl. (except the stuffing) spray a pan with nonstick spray and spread mixture evenly. After the stuffing is done, spread it on top and bake at 350 15-20 minutes just to firm up the stuffing. 

 

Instead of using stuffing you can also use 1 sleeve of crushed ritz crackers & half of a stick of melted butter mixed together and spread over the top. Still bake it off same temp and time as you would if you use the stuffing.

**You can also put the cream of chicken soup and/or cream cheese in the crockpot from the very beginning. BUT I recommend you only do this if you are home to stir it occasionally. My last perfect wonderful crockpot died (suddenly and tragically…I’m still not over it) and my new one tends to run hotter (even on low) than the other one. So sometimes, it seems like mine tends to burn around the edges.**

As for the peach cobbler…I call it “Dummy Pie”. Meaning any dummy can make it! 🙂 

Preheat oven to 350. Put a stick of butter in a 9×13 pan and stick it in the oven while it’s heating up, to melt the butter.

When butter is melted, add a can of drained peaches to the butter. You can also use blueberries, blackberries, strawberries…anything you want! 

Whisk 1 cup SR flour with 1 cup of sugar. Whisk in 1 cup of milk. 

Pour the mixture over your fruit. Don’t stir it or anything…just stick it in the oven. 

45 minutes to an hour later, you got yourself a peach cobbler that took little to no effort whatsoever! My husband and boys would take “Dummy Pie” over an 8 hour cheesecake any day! Which means I’m really lucky, or I trained them really well! 🙂 

*When using fresh fruit, it is recommended to put them in a bowl with some sugar & refrigerate for 1-2 hours to sweeten them up*

Last but not least…

The green beans were fresh and soooo good! You could not have grown up in my family and not liked green beans. My Grandma is the QUEEN of green beans. I like canned green beans…not canned as in, open with a can opener…I mean CANNED! Good, Grandma, canned green beans! And if they’ve been sitting on the shelf a year or two…even better. But this time, I went from plant to bucket to pot. Can’t beat that! After washing and breaking, I put them in a pot, covered them with water, cut an onion up in it and added some side meat chunks for flavoring. (Bacon works well too, but these chunks stay together better than bacon) After getting them to a boil, reduce the heat, cover them up and let them cook into yumminess! If you cook them low and slow (which is best!) they need 4-6 hours in the pot. (These can also be put in a crockpot on low to cook all day while you’re working!)

The crockpot is one of my best friends! You can do a LOT of things to make things easier on yourself. I’m at home during the day & somedays wish I had more than one crockpot! If I worked outside of the home, you can bet I would have 2 or 3! More crockpot recipes to come!! 

Now for the fun part…I gotta go do the dishes 😦

6 thoughts on “Chicken Casserole, Fresh green beans and “Dummy Pie”…

Whatcha thinkin'??

